Making of Deep Beneath

5 Apr 2008

Here you have the full Making of Deep Beneath video set at Youtube. The total length is 22:20, hope you enjoy it :)

Downloads and Updates

4 Apr 2008

Deep Beneath has now been downloaded almost 300 times! Thanks to everyone for interest! And as for the CD release of the three full length albums, things are progressing well. It is now quite certain that they will be available this summer and there will also be a Vortech t-shirt available. Depending on how well the shirt sells, there may also be a second type of t-shirt later on for diversity.

During this time, I've been preparing all the background tracks for most of the songs from the three latest albums for possible live gigs this fall/winter. But first we need to rehearse the songs with Kraken during the summer and also see if it's feasible to perform with just two guys. If there's gigs, they will most likely be in this area (Tornio-Kemi-Oulu, maybe Rovaniemi) and perhaps in Sweden (Haparanda, Luleå¡¡nd maybe Umeå©® I will also try to record those gigs and see how it works. Maybe put out a live album for fun, or just have them available for download. We'll see.

I'll also start composing for the next Vortech album this summer, as usual, and aim for a release in the first quarter of 2009. So far there's just some material I came up with during the DB sessions and some other things, but nothing full yet.

The new album has been released!

6 Mar 2008

Today marks the release of Deep Beneath, the latest installment of the Vortech saga. Enjoy a dark release with heavy Lovecraftian undertones set in a futuristic world about to come to an end.

There will be a 100 pcs CD print of the album this summer and maybe some t-shirts too, so hang tight for those if you prefer a hard copy :)

Deep Beneath (2008)
Deep Beneath class=

Download the FULL album here: (64 MB)

01. The Awakening
02. Biodroid Legions
03. The Undying Storm
04. Shadow Shapes
05. Retribution
06. Bewildered
07. Deep Beneath
08. Subjugation
09. Exile Within
10. So They Rise

All music, lyrics and arrangements by Juha Untinen. Released on 6 March 2008. Mixed and mastered by Juha Untinen in March 2008. Recorded by Juha Untinen at Liberty Street Studios, January 2008. Vocals recorded at Siwa Studios, February/March 2008. Personnel: Juha Untinen - guitars, bass, programming and vocals, Kraken - guest vocals [1-3, 5, 6, 8-10], Mikko Nurmos - guest spoken vocals [8]

Enjoy ;)

Update: the album has been downloaded over 200 times in 4 days!

Mixing session

6 Mar 2008

I'm currently mixing the songs for what I hope to be the final mix. I'll check out the mixes in a variety of setups and places and see if I like it. If I do like the mix, then it's time to release the album :) But we'll see. So far four songs have been fully mixed.

It's a wrap!

3 Mar 2008

All the vocals are now done! We just finished recording the last one, and you can expect some wild things in a few parts. Next up I'll start compiling the vocal tracks and add them to the song project files. I also need to finish the consolidation of all the guitar impulse tracks. Once those two things are done, I can start doing the final mix for all the songs. That should take a few days or so, so if all goes well I might even be able to release the album next week!

There's some more pictures too: Photos.