Currently recording guitars

14 Sep 2014

The recording of guitars and bass for the next album has begun! At the moment, two songs have full final guitars, and probably two more will be completed today. After all guitars are done, then all bass parts will get their final form. So far the sound is quite good indeed, but perhaps we will do some re-amping for the guitars, since it's been a while when we last used a mic and amp combo for guitars (on Wasteland). Should be fun!

The things to come

8 Sep 2014

It feels now that a very strong tracklist for the next album has taken shape! The balance is quite good, with a nice split similar to how it was on Wasteland. And after a few albums' break, there's once more some ambient stuff! Personally I'm quite excited about the songs, and can't wait to have this album out!

All tabulatures have been finished for the songs, so the next step is logically to start recording! At first, as usual, I will record all guitars and bass, and then it's time for Ville to record drums and meanwhile we will write lyrics with Mikko. Once all the lyrics are ready, it's time to record the vocals!

From there on, it's the usual deal - mixing and mastering. Then it is time to release the 7th full length Vortech album!

Full new demo song available!

2 Aug 2014

Enjoy a full demo song from the upcoming album!

And a stock footage-based small video to accompany it:

So it begins!

1 Aug 2014

The demo sessions for the next full length album are done, and we now have 20 songs to choose from! The total duration of all the new songs is 1h 23m of extremely Vortech-y stuff!

The next step for us is to start picking the songs for the album (10-11 total probably) and working on the song order. This time there is no central theme to the lyrics, so what we are planning to do is to split up the album in two "sides", with some ambient stuff inbetween. Then Mikko and me (Juha) will write lyrics to one side per person. Let's see what this results in!

All in all, the songs remind me a lot of the experimental edge of Wasteland, and the scifi melody and speed of Posthumanism! Very nice! Of course, with 20 songs to choose from, there will be lots of leftovers this time. We will see what happens with them - perhaps a special release of non-album tracks in digital form?

And here are the working titles of all the songs now, in alphabetical order:

Battling with a Lion
Blast Radius
Decay to Static
From the Void Arise
Ghosts of Existence
Industrial Complex
Internal Poison
Neolithic (The Darkness Is Born)
Oceans of Steel
Predictable End
Quantum Dissolution
Signal Loss
Strength In Numbers
The Empty Vessel
Toxin Release
Within the Fog

Stay tuned! Perhaps I will post a full demo song soon...